The School Board

York Preparatory Academy is governed by a Board of Trustees. The Board is made up of 7 members, 4 of whom are elected, and 3 of whom are appointed by the standing board. We are grateful for the volunteer service of our board members as they receive no compensation for their efforts. They serve staggered terms and a handful of seats are up for election each spring.

The Board oversees the efforts of the school using a system called Policy Governance. Under this system, the school management is rigorously held accountable for meeting the ends that the school was chartered to produce for each student. In order to be held accountable, the school also is given control of overall operations within the Board's stated guidelines. As a result, questions, concerns, and problems are best handled at the school level. Reports on these items are given to the board at its monthly meetings. The meetings are open to the public and notice can be found on the school calendar as well as posted on the door to the student union in advance.

Board Members for the 2020-2021 school year are:

  • Gwen Mugabe, Chair
  • Scott Smith, Vice Chair
  • David Nelson, Finance 
  • Amie Cowart, Secretary
  • Craig Craze
  • Joe Medlin
  • Krysten Franks

The board can be contacted at the following email address:  Board@yorkprepsc.org

Meetings & Documents